Into a Wonderful, New World: The iPad HD

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Technology

It is interesting that I have been a tech guy for so many years but I truly struggled with making the decision to purchase the iPad. When I first got my iPhone, the only thing that had been holding me back was that I was a Verizon guy and it took several years for the first iPhone to make it to Verizon. I actually jumped ship and went to AT&T only several months prior to the broadening of the market to the other phone providers. With the iPad, my struggles have been simply about whether I needed it when I also had an iPhone and what would be its primary purpose. I finally got to a point whether I was able to justify that I would get great use out of the iPad for both work and personal reasons.

While there are a number of uses for the iPad, I have made myself open to exploring them all. Here are the first set of apps I downloaded for my new device:

Social Networking

  • Facebook & Twitter: While there are apps that merge the browsing and updating of both of these programs, I prefer to keep them separate. I also have my Twitter updates linked up to forward to Facebook anyway.
  • WordPress: I have to support the site where I do my blogging.
  • LivingSocial: Good deals, good life experience.
  • AroundMe: When you do not know what is available near you…
  • Yelp: Somewhat similar, I am curious what people think about places to eat, shop and enjoy.
  • Thrillist: Similar to AroundMe but with the added benefits of LivingSocial.
  • Skype: With Wi-Fi, this is a great way to talk to people quick and easy.

Entertainment

  • Netflix: This is a great way to take advantage of the HD video quality and faster processor.
  • Flixster: As a movie buff, I love the ability to stay on top of what is out and upcoming in the world of movies.
  • IMDB: Same as above.
  • Urbanspoon: Though somewhat social resource, I like its different way to find information like with Yelp.

Lifestyle

  • TasteBook: It is social networking for people who love to share their cooking exploits.
  • Epicurious & Recipes: Obvious.
  • Amazon: Great way to explore the site’s offering on a mobile device.

Sports

  • ScoreCenterXL: ESPN updated the simple way they displayed information on their iPhone app.
  • YahooFantasyFootball*: Not out currently, but I could only imagine that it will be more information than the iPhone versions.

News

  • Flipboard, Zite & News Pro: A fully customizable way to get some of the best headlines around the nation and the world.
  • CNN, Wash Post & NPR: A few specific organizations to catch up on the latest.
  • TED: Awesome videos of people who think differently.

Games

  • Family Feud: Great social version of the classic game.
  • Words HD & Hanging HD: Upgrades on the iPhone versions, but they were not free upgrades…
  • Draw Something: Very fun to do with the stylus.
  • DragonVale: Raising a zoo full of dragons.

There are a few others I have found, but I am curious if there are any other great ones out there I should know about. Thanks in advance for the help.

Comments
  1. amit says:

    Reblogged this on i-techno.

Leave a Reply

