My Triforce of Fantasy Football

Posted: September 4, 2012 in Fantasy Sports, Football

With the NFL season only  few days away, I just finished up my selection of fantasy drafts for this season. I am fairly happy with my teams, as I feel that I have some good combinations to work with and could develop a solid strategy to match up well against my opponents, but it all started with a random Yahoo league (Football America) to prepare for my first pay league.

Football America is a league that I joined randomly last year and was able to pull off an appearance in the league finale. Though I ended up falling short by a single point, my team fell short at RB due to a host of injuries earlier in the season. I was solid with Tom Brady, Pittsburgh defense, Julio Jones and Mike Wallace, but I was rotating RBs through free agency on a weekly basis. This year, I think I can compete fairly well with a solid balance at all positions. Here is my first fantasy team…Triforce of Power.

  • QBs: Tom Brady; Josh Freeman
  • WRs: Brandon Marshall; Miles Austin; Dwayne Bowe; Pierre Garcon; Lance Moore
  • RBs: Matt Forte; Shonn Green; Trent Richardson; Beanie Wells; Cedric Benson
  • TE: Vernon Davis
  • Ks: Dan Carpenter; Garrett Hartley
  • DEF: Seattle
  • Ds: London Fletcher; Jason Pierre-Paul; James Anderson

My second league is the one that I started with my friends in Student Affairs. I originally created the league while at UNC Chapel Hill with the other staff in the department. The league expanded a bit with some other partners around campus and then eventually there some members that started to get jobs at places around the country. Last year, I was still able to maintain a 1o-team league and it was the first time that I finished the season at any rank higher than 9th (where I earned 4th and at least made the playoff rounds). This year, I struggled to get interest. Most of the teams decided not to return and I had to expand the net and find new players. I have gotten the group back up to 8 teams and decided to have a little fun with the draft since it is a just-for-fun league. Here is my fantasy team…Triforce of Wisdom.

  • QBs: Eli Manning; Matt Ryan
  • WRs: Marques Colston; Torrey Smith; Wes Welker; Pierre Garcon
  • RBs: Ray Rice; Marshawn Lynch; Jamaal Charles; DeMarco Murray; Isaac Redman; Michael Bush
  • TEs: Fred Davis; Brandon Pettigrew
  • K: Jason Hanson
  • DEF: San Francisco

After talking with my sister, I learned that she was trying to expand her league, which is a $50 buy-in league. I have never invested in fantasy football for money, but I thought that I would give it a shot. Using the information from my research and my first draft with Football America, I joined her and her husband with a few of their friends for an in-person draft. We all set up our laptops and trash-talked the entire time, but there was also a lot of support for the choices that each owner made. Hopefully I can pull this group together for a big win in my first pay league. Here is the team that will make it happen…Triforce of Courage.

  • QBs: Matt Ryan; Andy Dalton
  • WRs: Marques Colston; Demaryius Thomas; Dez Bryant; Vincent Jackson; Sidney Rice; James Jones
  • RBs: LeSean McCoy; Maurice Jones-Drew; Shonn Greene; Beanie Wells
  • TEs: Vernon Davis; Martellus Bennett
  • K: Matt Prater
  • DEF: Cincinnati

  

Leave a Reply

